Young Scientist Award

To encourage young researchers in Physics, who may be working anywhere but are domiciles of Odisha and below the age of 35 years, “Oriya Young  Scientist  Award”  was  introduced  from  the  28th   convention  of  OPS  .

From the 30th convention of OPS, the name of this award was made more general and changed to “Orissa Physical Society Young Scientist Award”. The award belongs to the year preceding the year in which the convention of OPS is held.

It was decided to give two awards, one for theoretical research and the other for experimental research, from the 31st convention of OPS depending on the suitability of the candidates .

The Young Scientist awards from 2017 have been sponsored by Dr. Shantilata Mishra (Mohapatra) of 41 Susan Drive, Newburg, NY 12550, USA. All the expenses relating to the awards are to be met from the interest of the fixed deposit of Rs.200000/- (rupees two lakh) donated by Dr. Mishra.


Applications for the Orissa Physical Society Young Scientist Award 2018 in Physics are invited from young prospective researchers in the proforma given below. It may be filled in by the candidate and sent along with other supporting documents to the chairman of the selection committee by registered/ speed post so as to reach him on or before 15th December 2018

Prof. Niranjan Barik
Chairman, Selection Committee
For OPS Young Scientist Award 2018
e-mail ID:
Department of Physics, Utkal University Vani Vihar, Bhubaneswar-751004

Applications received after the above date shall not be considered.

Two separate OPS Young Scientist Awards will be given - one for research in theoretical Physics and the other for research in experimental Physics.


The candidate must possess a Ph.D. degree in Physics on or before 15-12-2018. He/she must be a domicile of Odisha, wherever he/she might have studied or wherever he/she might be serving. He/she must not have completed 35 years of age as on 31-12-2018. He/she may or may not be a Life Member/Patron Member of Odisha Physical Society.


  • The application form duly filled in by the candidate
  • Self attested Xeroxed copies of High School, Higher Secondary, B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. certificates/degrees
  • Reprints of all research papers in Physics published by the candidate only in journals with the impact factor mentioned on the journal papers.

    (Conference papers should not be submitted. Research papers published in Orissa Journal of Physics are allowed)

  • A letter of recommendation from the Principal of the College/ Head of P.G.Department (in case of University or P.G. College)/ Head of Institute where the candidate is serving. Such a letter of recommendation from an Executive Committee member of OPS is also allowed.
Young Science Award - 2018, Application form to be Downloaded (Download)


1. Dr. Sukadev Sahoo, NIT, Durgapur                                           in 28th   convention (12-13 February 2011)
2. Dr. Dilip Kumar Mishra, ITER, Bhubaneswar                        in 29th  convention (11-12 February 2012)
3. Dr. Dillip Kumar Pradhan, NIT, Rourkela (for 2012)              in 30th  convention (09-10 February 2013)
4. (a) Dr. Pramod Kumar Samal, Physics Department,  
Utkal University, Bhubaneswar  (in theory for 2013)   
in 31st  convention (08-09 February 2014)
(b) Dr. Tanmaya Badapanda, Physics Department,
C.V. Raman College of Engineering, Bhubaneswar (in experiment for 2013) 
  5.(a) Dr. Subhankar Bedanta, NISER, Bhubaneswar
(in experiment for 2014)
in 32nd  convention (14-15 February 2015)
(b) Not awarded to anybody in theory for 2014
6.   (a) Dr. Sudhanwa Patra, ITER, Bhubaneswar
(in theory for 2015)
in 33rd  convention (13-14 February 2016)
(b) Dr. Ramakanta Naik, Physics Department, 
Utkal University (in experiment for 2015)
7. (a) Dr. Bibekananda Nayak,
Asst. Professor , P. G. Department of APAB F. M. University, Vyasavihar, Balasore (in theory for 2016)
in 34th  convention (11-12 February 2017)
(b) Dr. Satyanarayan Bhuyan,
Associate Professor, Dept. Of Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering ITER, SOA University, Bhubaneswar (in experiment for 2016)
8. Dr. Pravanjan Mallick
Asst. Professor, Dept of Physics, North Orissa University, Baripada (for 2017 in experiment physics)
In 35th OPS Convention 10-11 February 2018
9. (a) Dr. Roshnee Sahoo,
Asst. Professor of Physics, Binayak Acharya College, Berhampur (for 2018 Experimental work)
36th OPS Annual Convention 2-4 February 2019 at PMEC, Berhampur
(b) Dr. Mrutyunjaya Bhuyan,
Postdoctoral Researcher, Instituto Tecnologico de Aeronautica, Brazil (for 2018 Theoretical research)